## A RESOLUTION HONORING THE USS SALT LAKE CITY

WHEREAS,	citizens of Salt Lake City take great pride in the fact that such an outstanding submarine as the USS Salt Lake City was named after Utah's capital city; and		
WHEREAS,	SSN-716 was launched in October 1982 and commissioned the <i>USS Salt Lake City</i> in May 1984; and		
WHEREAS,	this is the second U.S. Navy ship to bear the proud name SALT LAKE CITY, the first being a Heavy Cruiser that actively participated in WWII and was decommissioned shortly after WWII ended; and		
WHEREAS,	officers and enlisted personnel of the USS Salt Lake City have represented the city of Salt Lake with honor, dignity and respect during various deployments and assignments; and		
WHEREAS,	the Salt Lake City Mayor and the Salt Lake City Council wish to extend their thanks to the officers and enlisted personnel of the USS Salt Lake City for defending our nation; and		
WHEREAS,	the USS Salt Lake City and members of the crew have proven to be a great asset as the United States Navy's 27th Los Angeles Class Fast Attack Nuclear Submarine; and		
WHEREAS,	crew members of the USS Salt Lake City are exemplary role models for many of Utah's younger generation; and		
WHEREAS,	the Salt Lake City Mayor and the Salt Lake City Council have appreciated and enjoyed their association through the years with the USS Salt Lake City; and		
WHEREAS,	since the USS Salt Lake City will be inactivated October 26, 2005, we pay special tribute to, and honor those who have served aboard the submarine.		
NOW, THERE	FORE, LET IT BE RESOLVED		
	that the Salt Lake City Mayor and the Salt Lake City Council hereby recognize the tremendous contribution the USS Salt Lake City has made to our nation and to our city, and hereby extend our united and heartfelt gratitude to the officers and enlisted personnel of the USS Salt Lake City.		
Ross C. "Rocky" Anderson, Mayor		Dale Lambert, Council Chair	
Carlton Christensen, District One		Van Turner, District Two	
Eric Jergensen, District Three		Nancy Saxton, Vice-Chair	
Jill Remington Love, District Five		Dave Buhler, District Six	