## Planning Commission - Board Appointment - Frank Algarin

### INTRODUCTION:

Mayor Anderson is recommending that Frank Algarin, a resident of District 6 to be appointed to serve on the Planning Commission, for a term extending through July 1, 2010. Mr. Algarin will be replacing Laurie Noda whose term has expired.

### APPLICANT INFORMATION:

Mr. Algarin is the Vice President for InteliSum, Inc. a software and hardware company that has a technology for surveying land and is currently serving on the Salt Lake Transportation Board. He has been involved as a business developer in a variety of markets for over 30 years and for the past 20 years he has focused on technology for Civil Engineering. Before moving to Salt Lake City he lived through Orange County, California's growth from 1 million to over 10 million in population; having witnessed wins as well as mistakes made during this time; he was also a member of the Neighborhood Improvement Program of Anaheim. Mr. Algarin believes in using creative and innovative thoughts in controlling growth that benefits all residents as well as addressing city concerns.

#### **RESPONSE DEADLINE:**

If you have any objection to this appointment, please let Vicki know by 5:00 p.m. on Monday, July 31, 2006.

### CURRENT COMPOSITION OF PLANNING COMMISSION:

The Planning Commission consists of eleven voting members who are appointed to four-year terms, and must reside in Salt Lake City. Current members include: Tim Chambless, District 6; Babs Delay, District 3; John D. Diamond, District 3; Robert Forbis, Jr., District 4; Peggy McDonough, District 7; Robert Prescott Muir, District 5; Laurie Noda, District 6; Kathleen Scott, District 4 and Matthew Wirthlin, District 7; Mary Woodhead, District 2.

# **BOARD STRUCTURE:**

The Planning Commission's mission is to initiate and propose amendments to the zoning ordinance and zoning maps; prepare general plan relating to the growth and development of City lands; prepare surveys and studies of existing conditions and trends of growth and probable future requirements of the City; hear and decide appeals of administrative decisions; and hear and decide application for conditional uses, planned developments and subdivision amendments. According to City Ordinance, combined expertise of the Planning Commission members should include experience in banking, development, contracting, engineering, geology and seismology, law, ecology, the behavioral sciences, historical preservation, architecture and landscape architecture, should not be limited to professionals only, but represent a cross-section of the community.

## Planning Commission - Board Appointment - Susie McHugh

### INTRODUCTION:

Mayor Anderson is recommending that Susie McHugh, a resident of District 7 to be appointed to serve on the Planning Commission, for a term through July 1, 2007. Ms. McHugh will be replacing Bip Daniels who has resigned.

### APPLICANT INFORMATION:

Ms. Susie McHugh resides at 2777 East Wilshire Drive. Ms. McHugh is a retired educator and became very active in development issues to preserve the open space when she moved to Saratoga Springs. Ms. McHugh has attended many planning and town council meetings and was on the Planning Commission in Utah County.

### RESPONSE DEADLINE:

If you have any objection to this appointment, please let Vicki know by 5:00 p.m. on Monday, July 21, 2006.

### CURRENT COMPOSITION OF PLANNING COMMISSION:

The Planning Commission consists of eleven voting members who are appointed to four-year terms, and must reside in Salt Lake City. Current members include: Tim Chambless, District 6; Babs Delay, District 3; John D. Diamond, District 3; Robert Forbis, Jr., District 4; Peggy McDonough, District 7; Robert Prescott Muir, District 5; Laurie Noda, District 6; Kathleen Scott, District 4 and Matthew Wirthlin, District 7.

#### **BOARD STRUCTURE:**

The Planning Commission's mission is to initiate and propose amendments to the zoning ordinance and zoning maps; prepare general plan relating to the growth and development of City lands; prepare surveys and studies of existing conditions and trends of growth and probable future requirements of the City; hear and decide appeals of administrative decisions; and hear and decide application for conditional uses, planned developments and subdivision amendments. According to City Ordinance, combined expertise of the Planning Commission members should include experience in banking, development, contracting, engineering, geology and seismology, law, ecology, the behavioral sciences, historical preservation, architecture and landscape architecture, should not be limited to professionals only, but represent a cross-section of the community.