Board Appointments – Arts Council - Bruce Miya and Brent Schneider INTRODUCTION:

Mayor Anderson is recommending Bruce Miya, a resident of District 4 and Brent Schneider, a resident of District 7 to be appointed to the Arts Council. If appointed Mr. Miya will replace Dianne Hesleph who has resigned, if appointed he will serve a term extending through July 1, 2007. Mr. Schneider will replace David Asman whose term has also expired if appointed he will serve a term extending through July 1, 2009.

APPLICANT INFORMATION:

Bruce Miya is an Architect at JSA Architects. Mr. Miya has served on the Art Design Board and was asked to serve on this board; he enjoys providing the community with better awareness and is a firm believer in giving back to the community. He has served on the Historic Landmarks Commission, City of HOPE Board, Sarah Daft Home Board Member and the Utah Heritage Foundation Revolving Fund Committee Member.

Brent Schneider is an Associate Professor at the University Of Utah Department Of Modern Dance. He is very active in the Arts as a creator and performer; he believes that his interests in cultivating the Arts in Salt Lake City, his belief in Arts Advocacy, and his knowledge of several different art forms would be an asset to this Council. Mr. Schneider is a member of the Repertory Dance Theatre, Rocky Mountain Theatre Association, Utah Dance Education Organization and American College Dance Festival Association. He has also performed as the director and choreographer for several regional theatres and dance companies.

RESPONSE DEADLINE:

If you have any objection to these appointments, please let Vicki know by 5:00 p.m. on Friday, April 6, 2007.

CURRENT COMPOSITION OF ARTS COUNCIL:

There is no City residency requirement for members of the Arts Council. Current members include Olga Benedict, District 1; Candice Colby, District 2; Tim Dolan, District 5; Paul Heath, District 1; Michael Mack, District 5; Maralee Oleson, District 1; Derek Thomas Payne, District 7; Joan Fairbanks Reynolds, District 7; Jeanette Sawaya, District 6; Edie Trimmer, District 2; and Jo-Ann Wong, District 6.

BOARD STRUCTURE:

The fifteen members Arts Council is the City's advisory board in all matters pertaining to the arts and cultural development of the city. Its primary objectives are to promote and encourage public art programs; further the development and public awareness of and interest in the fine and performing arts; provide for the assessment of the artistic needs of the community; provide the means for the development of a comprehensive citywide plan to encourage and strengthen artistic and cultural resources; develop programs in the arts which seek to introduce visual and performing arts to city residents who have previously not participated in such activities; encourage existing organizations to develop new ways of reaching the community; and provide a forum of communication between representatives of the community and the City Council.