Airport Board Appointment - Wayne Holland, Michael Zuhl & David Ibarri

INTRODUCTION:

Mayor Becker is recommending Mr. Wayne Holland, Mr. Michael Zuhl and Mr. David Ibarra to be appointed to the Airport Board, if appointed Mr. Holland will replace Jess A. Agraz, Mr. Zuhl will replace Tammy Kikuchi Nakamura and Mr. Ibarra will replace John H. Short all whose terms have expired. They will all serve a term extending through January 1, 20012.

APPLICANT INFORMATION:

Mr. Holland's current occupation is Labor Relations, and he has had a long term interest over the years regarding issues related to the airport, such as occupational safety, dispute resolutions and various other employee related issues. Mr. Holland has served on the Utah Children's Museum board and as President of Youth Athletic Programs. He has been active for the United Steel Workers and served as chief negotiator in over 75 CBA-NCRB related negotiations.

Mr. Zuhl has a long standing interest in the growth and development of the Salt Lake Airport. He is currently on the board for the Children's Center and Odyssey House and served as Chief of Staff for former Mayor Palmer DePaulis from 1985-1991.

Mr. Ibarra was a member of the selection committee for the Executive Director of the Salt Lake International Airport in 2006 and in 1999 was appointed by former President Clinton to serve on the US Air Force Academy Board of visitors. Mr. Ibarra is currently serving as a board member for the Utah Hispanic Chamber of Commerce and The Latino Leaders Network.

RESPONSE DEADLINE:

If you have any objection to these appointments, please let Chris know ASAP. We would like to try and set up interviews by Friday for April 1, 2008 interviews.

CURRENT COMPOSITION OF AIRPORT BOARD:

The Airport Board consists of nine voting board members appointed to four-year term. Members may not currently be employed in commercial aeronautics. City ordinance allows four board members to reside outside City boundaries. Current board members include: Jess Agraz, County Resident, term expired; Michael Bodell, County Resident; Keith Christensen, District 7; Mary Kay Griffin, District 6; Nancy Huntsman, District 3; Tammy Kikuchi Nakamura, County Resident, term expired; John Short, County Resident, term expired; Andrea Wolcott, County Resident and Russ Pack, District 7.

BOARD STRUCTURE:

The Airport Board was created to promote optimum safety, improve public service and continue profitability. It is an advisory board that makes recommendations to the Mayor regarding the operation and management of the City's airport. As detailed in the Salt Lake City Code, the Airport Board shall "assist the director of airports in every way possible for the continuing orderly development and promotion of the airport in order to best serve the local and regional requirements for airport service." The Airport Board has a duty to prepare an annual budget for operating and maintenance expenditures; plan and approve all construction and expansion projects; determine broad matters of policy regarding the operation and management of the airport; determine uses for airport land; and establish rate services or facilities furnished by the airport.