Historic Landmark Commission Appointment — Earle Bevins III,

INTRODUCTION:

Mayor Becker is recommending the following to be appointed to the Historic Landmark Commission: Earle Bevins III, District Four, the South Temple representative, Polly Hart, District Three, the Capitol Hill representative, Arla W. Funk, District Four, the State History representative, Michael A. Ferro, District Six, the Exchange Place representative and Margrit S. Schneider, District as an alternate, if appointed they will all serve a term extending through January 14, 2011.

APPLICANT INFORMATION:

Mr. Bevins is currently retired. He feels that both preservation and citizen involvement in decision making are important and that the qualities that make historic areas of the city unique are valuable and should be protected. Mr. Bevan's served as a member/ treasurer for the Great Salt Lake Audubon from 2001-2006.

RESPONSE DEADLINE:

If you have any objection to these appointments, please let Chris know by 5:00pm no later than Friday April 11, 2008.

CURRENT BOARD COMPOSITION:

According to City ordinance, the Historic Landmark Commission "shall consist of not less than nine or more than fifteen voting members." In part, the Salt Lake City Code states that each voting member "shall be a resident of the City interested in preservation and knowledgeable about the heritage of the City." City code also requires members be selected to provide representation from the following groups of experts and interested parties: (a) a licensed architect representing the American Institute of Architects; (b) a member representing the Utah Historical Society; (c) a member representing the Utah Heritage Foundation; (d) six citizens at large; and (e) a member representing each historic district in the City.

Current members of the Historic Landmark Commission include Pete R. Ashdown, Exchange Place Representative, District 3; Paula Carl, District 5; David Fitzsimmons, District 5; Creed Haymond, University District, District 4; Warren Lloyd, American Institute of Architects, District 6; and Jessica Norie, Utah Heritage Foundation.

HLC STRUCTURE:

The mission of the Historic Landmark Commission is to preserve buildings of historic and architectural significance, encourage proper development in areas adjacent to historic districts, safeguard the City's heritage by protecting landmarks, protect and enhance the attraction of the City's historic landmarks for tourists and visitors, and increase public awareness of historic preservation.