Planning Commission - Board Appointment - Kathleen J. Hill

INTRODUCTION:

Mayor Becker is recommending that Kathleen J. Hill be appointed to serve on the Planning Commission, if appointed Ms. Hill will be filling a vacancy and serve the term through July 1, 2012.

APPLICANT INFORMATION:

Kathleen J. Hill resides in Salt Lake City, District Four. She is currently employed as Project Manager with Cooper, Roberts, Simonsen, Architects. Ms. Hill was involved with the Sky Bridge Project and City Creek Development. She has fifteen years of professional experience in architecture, planning and community building.

RESPONSE DEADLINE:

If you have any objection to this appointment, please let Chris know by March 27, 2009.

CURRENT COMPOSITION OF PLANNING COMMISSION:

The Planning Commission consists of eleven voting members who are appointed to four-year terms, and must reside in Salt Lake City. Current members include: Frank Algarin, District 6; Tim Chambless, District 6; Babs Delay, District 3; Susie McHugh, District 7; Prescott Muir, District 5; Matthew Wirthlin, District 7; Mary Woodhead, District 2; Angela Dean, District 3 and Michael Fife, District 3.

BOARD STRUCTURE:

The Planning Commission's mission is to initiate and propose amendments to the zoning ordinance and zoning maps; prepare general plan relating to the growth and development of City lands; prepare surveys and studies of existing conditions and trends of growth and probable future requirements of the City; hear and decide appeals of administrative decisions; and hear and decide application for conditional uses, planned developments and subdivision amendments. According to City Ordinance, combined expertise of the Planning Commission members should include experience in banking, development, contracting, engineering, geology and seismology, law, ecology, the behavioral sciences, historical preservation, architecture and landscape architecture, should not be limited to professionals only, but represent a cross-section of the community