MEMORANDUM

DATE: August 7, 2009

TO: Council Members

FROM: Cindy Lou Trishman

Policy Analyst/Constituent Liaison

SUBJECT: Planning Commission

BOARD STRUCTURE:

The Planning Commission is comprised of eleven members. Each member is appointed by the Mayor, with the advice and consent of the Salt Lake City Council, to a term of four years. The members are comprised of individuals with expertise in banking, development, contracting, engineering, geology and seismology, law, ecology, the behavioral sciences, historical preservation, architecture and landscape architecture.

Duties of the commission include reviews, recommendations, adoption, and approval of various land use decisions. These land use items include City master plans, redevelopment plans, special studies, zoning ordinances, use district maps, planned unit developments, conditional uses and certain subdivisions.

The Planning Commission is a Quasi-Judicial and Regulatory Board.

CURRENT COMPOSITION:

Michael R. Gallegos, District 1

Mary Woodhead, District 2

Angela Dean, District 3

Michael Fife, District 3

Babs De Lay, District 4

Kathleen Hill, District 4

Prescott Muir, District 5

Frank Algarin, District 6

Tim Chambless, District 6

Susie McHugh, District 7

Mathew Wirthlin, District 7

cc: Cindy Gust-Jenson, David Everitt, Frank Gray, Mary De LaMare-Schaefer, Wilf Sommerkorn, Pat Comarell, Tami Hansen, Matt Lyon, Holly Hilton, Mayors Liaisons, and City Council Liaisons