MEMORANDUM

DATE: December 1, 2009

TO: Council Members

FROM: Amber McClellan

Council Staff Assistant

SUBJECT: Sugar House Park Authority

BOARD STRUCTURE:

Sugar House Park is governed by the Sugar House Park Authority, a non-profit organization created in conjunction with Salt Lake City and Salt Lake County in 1957. The Park Authority is comprised of nine-member, seven of whom are citizen volunteers; the other two members are representatives of Salt Lake City and Salt Lake County, respectively.

Salt Lake City and Salt Lake County jointly owned the old State Prison site in the 1950s, having acquired it from the State of Utah after the prison was moved to the Point of the Mountain. In 1957, the city and county deeded the property, in trust, to the Sugar House Park Authority until Dec. 31, 2055. So, the Park Authority is now about halfway through its 99-year obligation to own, maintain and operate Sugar House Park.

Salt Lake City and Salt Lake County jointly provide the essential funding for the park's maintenance; since 1990, the Park Authority has contracted with Salt Lake County Parks to maintain Sugar House Park. So, the City and County are very important partners in the three-party agreement by which the Park Authority governs the park.

The Park Authority board meets 10 times a year, at which time they make decisions to set park policy and handle special requests

CURRENT COMPOSITION:

Lex Hemphill, President
Mark Danenhauer, Vice President
Sandra Fagergren, Treasurer
Jim Agutter
Dan Cable
Melanie Mestas
Mark Kittrell
Wayne Johnson, Salt Lake County Representative
Emy Storheim, Salt Lake City Representative

cc: Lex Hemphill, Cindy Gust-Jenson, David Everitt, Matt Lyon, Holly Hilton, Mayors Liaisons, and City Council Liaisons