Planning Commission – Board Appointments –Angela Dean

INTRODUCTION:

Mayor Becker is recommending that Angela Dean be appointed to serve on the Planning Commission, if appointed Ms. Dean will serve the perspective term through July 1, 2012.

APPLICANT INFORMATION:

Angela Dean is a resident of District Three and is currently employed at AMD Architecture as an architect and she is the owner. Ms. Dean is deeply rooted in Salt Lake City as a resident of the avenues and a small business owner. She feels as an architect she will have a balanced perspective that would be an asset to the commission. She is active with the Utah Society for Environmental Education and the American Institute of Architects, also she is the author of a book on green design and she would be honored to serve on the planning commission.

RESPONSE DEADLINE:

If you have any objection to this appointment, please let Chris know by January 20, 2009.

CURRENT COMPOSITION OF PLANNING COMMISSION:

The Planning Commission consists of eleven voting members who are appointed to four-year terms, and must reside in Salt Lake City. Current members include: Frank Algarin, District 6; Tim Chambless, District 6; Babs Delay, District 3; ; Peggy McDonough, District 7; Susie McHugh, District 7; Prescott Muir, District 5; Kathleen Scott, District 4 and Matthew Wirthlin, District 7; Mary Woodhead, District 2.

BOARD STRUCTURE:

The Planning Commission's mission is to initiate and propose amendments to the zoning ordinance and zoning maps; prepare general plan relating to the growth and development of City lands; prepare surveys and studies of existing conditions and trends of growth and probable future requirements of the City; hear and decide appeals of administrative decisions; and hear and decide application for conditional uses, planned developments and subdivision amendments. According to City Ordinance, combined expertise of the Planning Commission members should include experience in banking, development, contracting, engineering, geology and seismology, law, ecology, the behavioral sciences, historical preservation, architecture and landscape architecture, should not be limited to professionals only, but represent a cross-section of the community