# Housing Trust Fund Advisory Board Appointment, Michael Brough

### **INTRODUCTION:**

Mayor Becker is recommending that Michael Brough be appointed to The Housing Trust Fund Advisory Board. If appointed Mr. Brough will fill a vacancy and serve the term through December 26, 2011.

# APPLICANT INFORMATION:

Mr. Brough is a resident of Salt Lake City, District Six and is employed at Zions First National Bank and is the majority owner of Brough Family Investments, LLC. Mr. Brough has served various non-profit agencies such as United Way, March of Dimes and Kostopulos Dream Foundation and is currently a board member of Bonneville Hills Community Council.

## RESPONSE DEADLINE:

If you have any objection to this appointment, please let Chris know by May 15, 2009.

## COMPOSITION OF HOUSING TRUST FUND ADVISORY BOARD:

Members of the Housing Trust Fund Advisory Board are appointed by the Mayor with the advice and consent of the Council. The board will meet at least ten times per year. City ordinance states that the board shall consist of eleven appointed members, "at least one of whom has a household income which qualifies such person for affordable housing benefits or programs." All members must be Salt Lake City residents The ordinance requires one member from each Council district who has "expertise or experience in affordable and/or special needs housing, which may include a full range of such expertise and/or experience from citizens who are considering purchasing their first home to citizens who have a strong background in affordable housing." The remaining four board members are appointed to at-large positions and shall have "experience or expertise in areas of business, real estate, or housing development generally."

Members are limited to no more than two consecutive terms. Current members include: Curtis W. Anderson, District 1; Eleanor Muth, District 3; Nancy Pace, District 5; Faina Raik, District 3; Joe Gallegos, District 4; Shawn Teigen, District 5; Rick Knuth, District 6; Paula Carl, District 5 and Kathy Davis, District 7.