## A RESOLUTION RECOGNIZING 100 YEARS OF SERVICE OF THE SALT LAKE CITY POLICE MOTORCYCLE SQUAD

- WHEREAS, the officers of the Salt Lake City Police Department's Motorcycle Squad work every day to ensure the public safety of this community; and
- WHEREAS, the Police Motorcycle Squad is universally recognized as an extremely effective law enforcement tool because of maneuverability and the enforcement image the Motor Squad presents, along with the capability for use in special functions; and
- WHEREAS, the officers are highly trained in all aspects of motorcycle safety and traffic enforcement, each year completing between 120 hours and 260 hours of in-service training; and
- WHEREAS, the Motor Squad issued 29,312 tickets in 2008, reminding Salt Lake City motorists that traffic safety saves lives; and
- WHEREAS, the Motor Squad was responsible for 926 DUI arrests in 2008; and
- WHEREAS, the Motor Squad also handled approximately 300 special and free speech events in 2008, including the Days of '47 Parade, Gay Pride Parade, President Bush's motorcade, and other dignitary escorts and funerals; and
- WHEREAS, the Motor Squad is composed of 2 sergeants and 20 officers, utilizing motorcycles which enable them to move freely through congested traffic and more effectively accomplish their mission; and
- WHEREAS, the Salt Lake City Motorcycle Squad has existed since 1909, enforcing the rules and regulations of the road and addressing traffic-related incidents; and

## NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED

the Salt Lake City Mayor and the Salt Lake City Council hereby recognize the 100 years of service of the Salt Lake City Police Department's Motorcycle Squad and their ongoing contributions to the public safety of Salt Lake City on this 13th day of June 2009. We recognize and appreciate the many sacrifices the Motor Squad makes on behalf of the Salt Lake City community and extend our sincere gratitude for the Motor Squad's dedication and commitment to our City.

Ralph Becker	Carlton Christensen, District One
Salt Lake City Mayor	Salt Lake City Council, Chair
JT Martin, District Six	Van Blair Turner, District Two
Salt Lake City Council, Vice Chair	Salt Lake City Council Member
K. Eric Jergensen, District Three	Luke Garrott, District Four
Salt Lake City Council Member	Salt Lake City Council Member
	Søren D. Simonsen, District Seven Salt Lake City Council Member