MEMORANDUM	
DATE:	November 5, 2009
то:	Council Members
FROM:	Amber McClellan Council Staff Assistant
SUBJECT:	Board of Adjustment

BOARD STRUCTURE:

The Board of Adjustment hears and rules on appeals of administrative decisions made by zoning administrators or enforcement officers regarding the City's zoning ordinance. The Board also reviews and approves or denies requests for variances and special exceptions and makes determinations relating to non-conforming uses and non-complying structures.

The Board is comprised of five members, each being selected to provide balanced representation in terms of geographic, professional, neighborhood and community interests. A limited number of alternate members may also be appointed to the board. Each member is appointed by the Mayor, with the advice and consent of the Salt Lake City Council, to a five year term.

Council policy states that individuals should be appointed to only two consecutive terms or eight years, whichever is greater.

CURRENT COMPOSITION:

Edward E. Radford, District Three Tom Berggren, District Three (Chair) Rod O. Julander, District Three (Alternate) Gary Jones, District Four Catherine E. Dunn, District Four Kenneth H. Bullock, District Six

cc: Wilf Sommerkorn, Cheri Coffey, Frank Gray, Mary De La Mare-Schaefer, Cindy Gust-Jenson, David Everitt, Matt Lyon, Holly Hilton, Mayors Liaisons, and City Council Liaisons