MEMORANDUM	
DATE:	October 6, 2009
то:	Council Members
FROM:	Amber McClellan Council Staff Assistant
SUBJECT:	Salt Lake City Airport Board

BOARD STRUCTURE:

The Salt Lake City Airport Board determines policy regarding the operation and management of the airports owned by Salt Lake City Corporation. The Board also adopts methods that are in the public interest and are most likely to advance, enhance, foster and promote air transportation in conducting the business, use and operation of the airports. This includes overseeing planning, construction and expansion projects. All actions of the board are considered advisory to the Mayor of Salt Lake City.

The Board is comprised of nine members of the public, no more than four of whom may reside outside the boundaries of Salt Lake City. The Mayor, each Council Member, the Director of Airports, the City Attorney and the City Engineer, or their designees, shall be ex-officio non-voting board members. Each member is appointed by the Mayor, with the advice and consent of the Salt Lake City Council, to a four year term.

Council policy states that individuals should be appointed to only two consecutive terms or eight years, whichever is greater.

CURRENT COMPOSITION:

Nancy Huntsman, District Three David R. Ibarra, District Four Michael Zuhl, District Five Michael J. Bodell, District Six (Chair) Keith Christensen, District Seven Russell Pack, District Seven Andrea Wolcott Wayne Holland Carlton Christensen, Ex-Officio

cc: Maureen Riley, Barbara Gann, Andrea Wolcott, Deborah Loertscher, Cindy Gust-Jenson, David Everitt, Matt Lyon, Holly Hilton, Mayors Liaisons, and City Council Liaisons