MEMORANDUM	
DATE:	October 6, 2009
TO:	Council Members
FROM:	Amber McClellan Council Staff Assistant
SUBJECT:	City & County Building Conservation and Use Committee

BOARD STRUCTURE:

The City & County Building Conservation and Use Committee is an advisory committee that advises the Mayor regarding the use, maintenance, preservation and modification of the City & County Building, including its historical fabric, and furnishings. The committee also reviews and oversees the preservation of Washington Square.

The Board is comprised of eight voting members. The Mayor, City Attorney, Support Services Manager, and City Engineer are all considered ex-officio, non-voting members of the board. The board requires expertise in historic preservation. As such, the committee is composed of a licensed architect, a member of the Utah Heritage Foundation, a member of the Salt Lake Arts Council, a Landscape Architect, a member of the Utah Historical Society, a licensed engineer, and two at-large representatives.

Council policy states that individuals should be appointed to only two consecutive terms or eight years, whichever is greater.

CURRENT COMPOSITION:

Kenneth R. Pollard, District Three (Chair) Lisa Thompson, District Three John Phillips, District Four Mark Vlasic, District Five Donald Hartley, District Six Paul Heath Harvey Wright

cc: Alden Breinholt, Ken Pollard, Chien Archuleta, Cindy Gust-Jenson, David Everitt, Matt Lyon, Holly Hilton, Mayors Liaisons, and City Council Liaisons