MEMORANDUM

DATE: September 29, 2009

TO: Council Members

FROM: Amber McClellan

Council Staff Assistant

SUBJECT: Historic Landmark Commission

BOARD STRUCTURE:

The Historic Landmark Commission conducts design reviews of new construction or alterations to properties located in one of Salt Lake City's six historic districts and landmark sites. Any demolition within a historic district must be approved by this board. The Commission is also charged with promoting, nominating, and monitoring the preservation of historically significant resources with the boundaries of the City.

The Commission is comprised of nine to fifteen members. Each member is appointed by the Mayor, with the advice and consent of the Salt Lake City Council, to a three year term. The Commission consists of citizens interested in historic preservation, including design professionals and representatives of historic preservation groups. At least one licensed architect from the American Institute of Architects, a member of the Utah State Historical Society, a member of the Utah Heritage Foundation, and a resident of each of the City's Historic Districts must be represented on the board.

CURRENT COMPOSITION:

Polly Hart, District Three
Anne Oliver, District Three
Earle R. Bevins, District Four
Arla W. Funk, District Four
Sheleigh Amanda Harding, District Four
Creed Haymond, District Four
Bill Davis, District Five
David Fitzsimmons, District Five (Chair)
Warren Lloyd, District Six

cc: Cindy Gust-Jenson, Wilf Sommerkorn, Joel Paterson, Angie Brusatto, Janice Lew, Nick Norris, Pat Comarell, David Everitt, Matt Lyon, Holly Hilton, Mayors Liaisons, and City Council Liaisons