MEMORANDUM

DATE: January 19, 2010

TO: Council Members

FROM: Amber McClellan

Council Staff Assistant

SUBJECT: Transportation Advisory Board

BOARD STRUCTURE:

The Transportation Advisory Board helps facilitate public input in the City's major transportation decisions. Powers and duties consist of:

- 1. Monitoring progress and assisting in updating the City's transportation master plan
- 2. Reviewing significant transportation issues and make recommendations to the Transportation Director, Mayor or City Council
- 3. Assisting in the development, implementation and ongoing updating of the City's traffic calming program
- 4. Monitoring and making recommendations regarding the crossing guard program
- 5. Helping develop travel demand management strategies and encourage the use of non-automotive transportation
- 6. Promoting public education of transportation issues affecting the City
- 7. Providing recommendations regarding priority and funding of transportation related capital improvement projects and programs.

The Board is comprised of fifteen members. Each member is appointed by the Mayor, with the advice and consent of the Salt Lake City Council, to a three year term. Membership consists of one resident from each of the eight city planning districts, one at large member to represent the Northwest Quadrant Planning District, one representative of college level transportation academia, one representative of a business-oriented organization actively involved in transportation issues affecting Salt Lake City, and one representative of the Salt Lake City School District. Other individuals representing organizations with continuing interest and involvement in City transportation issues may be appointed members.

Council policy states that individuals should be appointed to only two consecutive terms or eight years, whichever is greater.

CURRENT COMPOSITION:

Steven M. Sturzenegger, Chair Keith Jensen Alama Uluave Brian Doughty Joel Ban Randy Dixon
Milton Braselton
Jonathan Springmeyer, Vice Chair
Xuesong Zhou

cc: Frank Gray, Mary De La Mare Schaefer, Tim Harpst, Kevin Young, Yvonne Wright, Cindy Gust-Jenson, David Everitt, Holly Hilton, Mayors Liaisons, and City Council Liaisons