Planning Commission: Board Appointment: Charlie Luke

INTRODUCTION:

Mayor Becker is recommending Charlie Luke be appointed to serve on the Planning Commission, if appointed Mr. Luke will replace Tim Chambless, whose term has expired, and serve the term through July 1, 2014.

APPLICANT INFORMATION:

Charlie Luke resides in Salt Lake City, District Six. He is currently employed as the president of Luke Strategies, Inc. and is the host of "The Charlie Luke Show" on KSL radio. Mr. Luke has over ten years of professional experience in public relations and government affairs. He is interested in using his experience and skills to encourage progress on issues relating to planning, development, transportation and infrastructure that conform to his desires for a more livable and resident-friendly Salt Lake City.

RESPONSE DEADLINE:

If you have any objection to this appointment, please let Amber know by June 1, 2010.

CURRENT COMPOSITION OF PLANNING COMMISSION:

The Planning Commission consists of eleven voting members who are appointed to four-year terms, and must reside in Salt Lake City. Current members include: Frank Algarin, District 6; Babs Delay, District 4; Angela Dean, District 3; Michael Fife, District 3; Michael Gallegos, District 1; Kathleen Hill, District 4; Susie McHugh, District 7; Prescott Muir, District 5; Matthew Wirthlin, District 7; Mary Woodhead, District 2.

BOARD STRUCTURE:

The Planning Commission's mission is to initiate and propose amendments to the zoning ordinance and zoning maps; prepare general plan relating to the growth and development of City lands; prepare surveys and studies of existing conditions and trends of growth and probable future requirements of the City; hear and decide appeals of administrative decisions; and hear and decide application for conditional uses, planned developments and subdivision amendments. According to City Ordinance, combined expertise of the Planning Commission members should include experience in banking, development, contracting, engineering, geology and seismology, law, ecology, the behavioral sciences, historical preservation, architecture and landscape architecture, should not be limited to professionals only, but represent a cross-section of the community.